Recently I blogged about my disappointment in the Chicago Tribune's political page.  I reported on their lack of social media (asside from a link to the L.A. Times Twitter feed) and interactiveness as well as a low level of graphics. Today, I am happy to report that their page far exceeded my expectations.  

When I visited the site I expected to see the same format with a scroll of stories on the left and a slew of advertisements on the right.  However, this time things have changed.

To begin, the Tribune changed the title of their political page from "Politics" to "Elections."  This is not too significant but it was an interesting alteration.  More importantly, at the top of the page there is now a section entitled "Delegates to date."  This section provides simple information about the primaries.  It shows a picture of each of the four GOP candidates and the number of delegates they currently have.

The right side of the page has undergone massive change.  There are less advertisements and more hard news content. They have added a sections including a calendar of political events and sections for television videos, pictures and graphics related to political opinions.

Finally, as you scroll down to the very bottom of the page there is a "Political Video" section.  This section contains various clips of political speeches.

Although I still think that they could amp up their social media content, I was thuroughly impressed by the changes they made to their page and their removal of the L.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a journalism and writing intensive English major in the Diederich College of Communication at Marquette University. 

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012

    Categories

    All
    Campaigns
    Elections

    RSS Feed