When I began this semester I knew very little about blogging. I’ve been required to do it for a couple of my classes but I never really understood the significance of it. In fact, from my perspective, blogging just seemed like a glorified platform for people to rant and get attention. Recently, my perspective on blogging has changed.

Now, I’ve learned from my Journalism 4953 class at Marquette University that blogging can have both positive and negative serious consequences.  It can be used as a way to get noticed by perspective employers or it can cause the blogger to get into trouble.  What distinguishes a good blog from a bad blog is how much time the individual takes to create the blog.  Taking time to create a thought out and quality blog will create a professional level of respect. 
 
The biggest thing I have had to learn and remember about blogging is that it will be read by other people professionally and privately. Even though I am not a widely known blogger, my blog could potentially be read all over the country or even worldwide. Therefore, I have a responsibility to myself and to the wider public to be accurate, truthful, and professional even if my blog is just for a class. 
 
I’m not sure if I will continue blogging after I complete my education but I am excited to learn more and see how I develop as a blogger. 



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a journalism and writing intensive English major in the Diederich College of Communication at Marquette University. 

    Archives

    April 2012
    March 2012
    February 2012
    January 2012

    Categories

    All
    Campaigns
    Elections

    RSS Feed